Skip to flight searchSkip to main content

Airlines Still Flying Over Russian Airspace

Airlines still flying over Russia

Since the start of the Russian invasion of Ukraine, numerous airlines have suspended operating over the airspace of the Russian Federation. Countries in Europe and North America have closed their airspace off to Russian aircraft and have since felt reciprocal retaliation from the Kremlin forcing reroutes around Russia.

However, some other international airlines which are still allowed to fly over Russian Federation airspace are choosing not to for safety or insurance reasons. In total, the Russian government has closed its airspace to 36 countries or territories. Find out which airlines are still operating across Russia.

Which countries are blocked from Russian Airspace?

Rosaviatsiya, the Federal Air Transport Agency for the Russian Federation has restricted airspace access to the following states and territories:
Albania, *Anguilla, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, British Virgin Islands, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Greece, Denmark, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Jersey, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

*British Overseas Territories

Which countries have blocked Russia from its airspace?

As of April 2022, Albania, Canada, Norway, Switzerland, Iceland, the UK, the US and the entirety of the European Union has banned Russian-registered aircraft from entering its airspace.

Which airlines are still flying over Russia?


All 27 member states of the European Union, as well as Switzerland, Albania, Iceland, Norway and the United Kingdom, have suspended services to Russia or over Russian airspace. However, the following airlines remain operating over their airspace or at their airports:


There are a limited amount of African airlines which have continued operating services over Russian airspace. Some which have continued include.

Middle Eastern


Asian nations haven't applied as rigorous air sanctions as Europe and North America. However, some countries' airlines are still voluntarily avoiding Russian airspace including Korean Air, Cathay Pacific, Singapore Airlines, Asiana and more. There are still a handful of airlines that operate services over Russian airspace including.

North American

Currently, no North American airlines fly over Russian airspace.

South American

Similarly, airlines based in South America are not flying over Russian Airspace.


Australasian airlines such as Qantas are avoiding Russian airspace on flights to Europe.

Please note that this list is constantly evolving as the Russo-Ukrainian war escalates. Please also check with your airline.

Alternative Airlines Update

At Alternative Airlines we are devastated by what is happening in Ukraine. We have temporarily suspended ticketing Russian airlines and accepting the Russian Ruble, to view our official statement on the matter and what we are doing as a company to help please visit our press release. We are also proud to be raising money for the victims of this atrocity by walking the distance of our office to Ukraine. To keep updated and donate visit our JustGiving page.

Trusted globally

Rated Excellent on Trustpilot

We’re super proud of our Trustpilot rating, but don’t just take it from us. See why millions of others love booking their flights through Alternative Airlines